Would You Pay to Play?

20140419-134710.jpg

If you’re a writer who also happens to be a loyal Writer’s Digest subscriber like me, you have probably received unsolicited telephone calls and emails from Abbott Press. Abbott Press is the magazine’s publishing arm, and it reportedly takes pride in helping independent authors raise the volume on their creative voices.

I’m all for that. It’s the price tag I’m worried about. Abbott Press’ publishing packages range from $1,000 to $5,000.

If you’re a author who has already sold 1,000 copies of his book, paying to play with Abbott Press probably isn’t a problem. You may have already generated enough funding to purchase the company’s most expensive package. I would expect your sales to go through the roof. Your book is now being pushed by a Writer’s Digest-affiliated company.

I have received multiple calls and emails from the same Abbott Press representative. That’s a good thing. Each time I speak with her, she asks me if my manuscript is done. I tell her no, that it should be completed within the next 2-3 months. She promises to contact me then.

I go back and forth on whether I should purchase one of Abbott Press’ publishing packages. My reluctance stems from the real fear that I won’t be able to recoup my expended monies and then turn a profit. That’s why I have become a fan of Amazon’s Createspace (print) and Kindle Direct Publishing (ebook) platforms. I don’t have to spend anything on the front end, and I receive 70 percent from every book sold. And because it’s a Print On Demand (POD) service, my garage is not filled to the brim with unsold books.

The Abbott Press representative advised that many of their authors initiate crowdfunding campaigns through Kickstarter or Indiegogo. I have always been a Kickstarter and Indiegogo fan. Unfortunately, my previous two campaigns were unsuccessful.

These filmmaking campaigns were probably unsuccessful because I believed my Facebook friends and Twitter followers would come through for me. I did receive Kickstarter contributions from a few Facebook friends, but the amount raised was well below my established target. And most of us know that Kickstater doesn’t deposit funds into your banking account if you don’t achieve your established target.

I realize now that I must align my crowdfunding efforts with Goodreads, the African-American Literature Book Club (AALBC), Kindle Mojo and IndieBound. This is where the readers are. I’m hopeful the book I’m writing now will resonate with them so I can quit my day job to produce the kind of books they want to read.

What are your thoughts? Would you pay to play with Abbott Press? I look forward to reading your responses.

2 thoughts on “Would You Pay to Play?

  1. If your writing is good, I don’t think the publishing platform will have a lot to do with your sales. I could be wrong, but if you have the right friends around you and the right people see your work, you should be golden! Keep up the good work Jeff…

    Your Loyal Fan

Leave a Reply

